Web banner BW - Farm and Environment

NZDFA nomination forms & constitutional information

NZDFA Executive Committee and Selection and Appointments Panel, and the Deer Industry New Zealand (DINZ) Board are open for nominations around February/March each year.

We encourage anyone who would like to be involved in the industry at another level, or knows of someone who would be a great representative of the industry, to consider nomination for these roles.

Nominations for the 2024/25 year

NZDFA positions

There are four NZDFA appointed positions up for nomination as they become available by rotation (appointment by nomination and election, if necessary), and one producer representative to the Deer Industry New Zealand (DINZ) board.

The following members are up for re-election or retirement:

  • Graham Peck (SAP, elected 2022) - seeking re-election
  • William Oliver (SAP, elected 2022) - seeking re-election
  • Karen Middelberg (EC, elected unopposed 2022)
  • Jamie Ward (EC, appointed 2022)

The NZDFA needs leaders to maintain an effective voice for farmers at the industry level, pan-agricultural sector level and with regional and central government so we encourage you to think about any of these positions.

This is a chance to shape the association's future and have a say in the industry as well with all positions responsible for appointing our four producer representatives to the Deer Industry New Zealand (DINZ) board.

Deer Industry New Zealand – NZDFA appointed board member

The DINZ board guides the actions that DINZ is taking to accelerate the industry recovery and give confidence that we have a sustainable and profitable future.

There is one producer-appointed position on the DINZ board open for nomination created by the retirement by rotation of Mandy Bell (seeking re-election).

Nominees will have an opportunity to address the NZDFA AGM in May and will be interviewed in June by the NZDFA SAP to decide on the best candidate.

Have your say in the industry’s future and consider a nomination for the Deer Industry New Zealand board.

Nominations must be received at the DINZ office (email: lindsay.fung@deernz.org) by 4.00pm 12 April 2024.

Please note interviews for the DINZ board position will be held on 13 or 14 June (this will be confirmed as soon as possible).

Nomination forms and further information 

2024 Nomination Forms 

NZDFA Executive Committee nomination form >>
Editable version Executive Committee >>
SAP nomination form >>
Editable version SAP >>
DINZ Board nomination form >> (updated 2/4/24 with new closing date)
Editable version DINZ Board >>


Proxy form for NZDFA AGM >>
Editable version Proxy form >>
2024 AGM remits >>

NZDFA nomination rules and instructions

Rules and amendments to the voting guidelines >>

Further information

Nomination forms can be requested from the NZDFA office (phone: 04 473 4500; email: lindsay.fung@deernz.org). The above files are editable PDFs, please get in touch if you require a Word document. 

Nominations must be received at the DINZ office (email: lindsay.fung@deernz.org) by 4.00pm Friday, 22 March 2024.

If you would like to indicate your interest, or talk to someone in confidence about these positions, please get in touch with NZDFA Returning Officer Lindsay Fung on lindsay.fung@deernz.org or 027 668 0141.

If you would like to discuss the positions with a current EC or SAP member to get an understanding of first-hand experience, please get in touch >>

2023-24 Executive Committee, L-R: Karen Middelberg, Mark McCoard, Justin Stevens, Jamie Ward.

2022 Results

  • NZDFA Executive Committee: Justin Stevens (re-elected, 2 year term) and Mark McCoard (re-elected, 2 year term).
  • NZDFA Selection and Appointments Panel: Donald Whyte (re-elected, 2 year term) and Andrew Peters (2 year term).
  • DINZ Board: One producer-appointed vacancies – Paddy Boyd (3 year term).

*2024 results will be updated after the 49th AGM on 7 May 2024. 

NZDFA Constitution

Approved at a Special General Meeting on 13 October 2022. Click here to view >>

Back to About