web banner velvet3 bw

Environmental Awards

The Environmental Awards are convened every second year and are part of the industry’s commitment to environmentally sustainable farmed deer production.

The awards’ primary goals are:  

  • To promote the adoption of sustainable deer farming practices on all deer farms.
  • To recognise innovative deer farmers for implementing and practising sustainable and profitable deer farming practices in land and deer systems management
  • To encourage sharing of experiences and proven best sustainable management practices and innovation through the resource of the NZ Deer Farmer's Landcare Manual 

Entrants to the awards are assessed based on their environmental performance, based on the principles detailed in The Deer Industry Environmental Management Code of Practice: 2018 and the NZ Deer Farmer's Landcare Manual published by DINZ and the NZ Deer Farmers Association (first published in 2004).

The DINZ-funded Elworthy Premier Award has a value of $2500 and comes with a commemorative plaque and a native tree. It is formally presented at the annual Deer Industry Conference. In addition, there is a wide range of merit awards.  

The awards were launched in 2001 at the initiative of one of the industry's founding fathers, the late Sir Peter Elworthy and his wife Fiona, Lady Elworthy. The Elworthy Premier Award recognises the importance of the industry’s environmental reputation and the responsibility of farmers to maintain and build that reputation. The promotion of the awards has played an important part in encouraging deer farmers to adopt sustainable farming systems and has highlighted the successes of innovative commercial farmers in overcoming the challenges involved.

How to enter the awards
Sponsorship information
2023 Deer Industry Environment Award Recipients
2021 Deer Industry Environment Award Recipients
2019 Deer Industry Environment Award Recipients
2017 Deer Industry Environment Award Recipients
2014 Deer Industry Environment Award Recipients
Past winners pre-2015
Back to Industry Awards